My 3 Ninja Turtles and The Color Test

image

My kids often play with a headless Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.  It had a head up until my 2-year-old decapitated it.  I thought I’d be able to fix it, but my oldest child lost the head before I had a chance.  They love the toy all the same and often have it rescue Barbie from the jaws of the vicious Toy Story T-Rex (who is missing his tail) or he helps out Buzz Lightyear (who has a broken left arm).  None of my children, to my knowledge, has ever seen the TMNT cartoons or movies.  I, on the other hand, grew up watching the sewer dwelling heroes who, as strange as it sounds, were almost heart throbs.

While on the website Nick.com, my oldest child discovered a personality test to determine which Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle you are.  With a lot of patience and some simplification of terminology, I had all my children take the test, and, of course, I took it too.  As silly as it seems the results were surprisingly accurate based on what I know about my children so far in their lives.

image

Each of my 3 children has a very distinct personality.  My oldest child is outgoing and highly sociable.  She is also creative, intelligent and funny. She is cautious when trying new things and will watch others before trying something new.  She laughs easily and likes to have a good time.  She dislikes cleaning, and keeping things in order is a near impossibility for her, yet she is persuasive and can convince others to do her work for her.  When she took the “Which Turtle are You?” Quiz her result was the orange turtle, Michelangelo.

Whoa! Lucky! You’re the coolest, mellowest Turtle ever! Mikey can’t wait to be part of the real world, and insists that people would accept the Turtles if they only got to know them. Raph’s always coming after Mikey about his spaciness, but his creative thinking has saved their shells a million times. Like Mikey, you make up for your lack of focus with a wild imagination, and your unpredictability makes you a tough competitor in any arena.

My second child is sweet and loving but shy around strangers and reserved in most settings.  He is also very systematic in how he does things, very particular and picky about how he likes things done, and sometimes downright unmovable in his plans.  He is often afraid to try new things and cries over things that shouldn’t be that scary.  He avoids conflicts and often gives in to more dominant personalities.  His test result did not surprise me at all; he is the purple turtle and the contraption creator, Donatello.

Like Donatello, you are a brilliant inventor. You may not make all of the Turtles’ gadgets, weapons, and vehicles, like he does, but you’ve got the brains for it! But sometimes you and Donnie are too smart for your own good, like when you’re too busy admiring an enemy’s futuristic laser cannon to run for your lives. But when it comes down to it, it’s other people’s lives that really keep your head in a mission. You fight with your heart, and that makes you a very powerful warrior.

My third child is wild, into everything, and afraid of nothing.  She dislikes rules and sets out to break them all.  She destroys books and toys, scribbles on furniture and the walls, throws her food all over, and constantly dumps my purse (which she knows drives me nuts).  She must be watched carefully because she does not hesitate to try something new and highly risky.  She likes to be in charge and orders her siblings around.  This one was absolutely a given, my littlest wild child is none other than the red turtle, Raphael.

Are you all about action? Because Raph is a straight-up brawler. Raphael has no patience for hiding in shadows or keeping his voice down. Tough, brawny, and aggressive, Raph would rather fight first and ask questions later, which sometimes gets the Turtles in over their heads. He and Leo constantly clash over the best plan of action — as in, Leo likes to plan, and Raph likes action. Raph’s also got a sarcastic sense of humor, and the only one safe from his insults is his loyal pet turtle, Spike. Do you have a pet turtle? Maybe you should get one!

I am caring and nurturing as a mother.  I often am the one who makes all the plans for the entire family, organizes everything, and oversees that things get done the way they need to get done. I am usually the one who initiates conversations and lessons as well as keeps the kid busy in extracurricular and weekend activities.  My kids sometimes gang up on me and try to get away with things they shouldn’t.  They all seem to know I have a huge heart and am not great at discipline.  When I took the silly and oh-so scientific quiz on Nick.com, I came out, to noone’s surprise as Leonardo.

Just like you, Leonardo dreams of being the perfect hero: a brave, decisive, square-jawed leader of men, just like his idol, Captain Ryan, from his favorite TV show Space Heroes. Unfortunately, right now he’s an inexperienced teen in charge of three rowdy brothers who love to poke fun at him. But in the end, the other Turtles know they can always count on Leo to hatch a plan that will lead them to victory. So stay focused and lead the pack! Your team is counting on you.

This activity got me thinking of another personality test (“The Hartman Personality Profile” a.k.a. “The Color Test”) that I have administered to my students and colleagues over the years.  It is simple and seemingly basic, but I have always found that it reveals a lot, and helps me to know everything from who maybe should not sit together to who will need more exciting learning opportunities.

If I had to assign my children a color on the Hartman Personality Profile I would say my oldest is a Yellow, my second child is a White, and my third child is a Red.  The test reveals the driving “core motives” of those who take it.  I am a Blue personality.  Blue personalities are motivated by intimacy; Yellow personalities are motivated by fun; White personalities are motivated by peace; and Red personalities are motivated by power.

Knowing what motivates my children gives me the upper hand and helps me know how to frame things in order to win their buy-in and cooperation.  If I want my oldest to do something it needs to be fun.  My middle child will not respond well to anything that upsets his inner peace, so I need to make sure that my tone and volume stay nice and peaceful.  My littlest needs to feel like she has power in all the things she does, and giving her choices proves the best way to let her think she’s in charge.  In the end, I am motivated by having strong relationships with each of my children, so by adapting to meet their core needs then I ultimately can fulfill my own.  It’s a win-win!

When I think of the TMNT characters in relationship to these colors or core motives, I have to say, I think Nick.com got it right.  And, I have a good idea of something my kids might actually like for Christmas this year.

image

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=wwwnewsmomger-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B00JGFI4TY&asins=B00JGFI4TY&linkId=VN5BRD4NZTJYGSWM&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

http://www.nick.com/overlay/get-url.html (Try it out!)

Standard

Leave a Reply

